top of page

Paul Smith


Paul Smith came to The Imperials in 1981, following the departure of Russ Taff. Paul was already familiar with the group through his booking them for concerts at Baylor University—where he was attending. Paul vocal talent easily qualified him to take the lead role in the group. many members of the group have said that Paul was the most professional Meyerbeer they had ever worked with. Paul finished out the "Priority tour" and rapidly earned the respect of The Imperials' friends and fans.


For the 1982 album Stand by the Power, Smith co-wrote the title track and the hit "Lord of The Harvest." He also co-wrote the 1980s, Larnelle Harris hit "How Excellent Is Thy Name." Paul is also the author of "Not To Us" and "Let The Wind Blow". 

In 1983, The Imperials released Side By Side. It was a double record set featuring five solo performances from each member. Smith had the last five songs on the album. Side By Side won the Dove Award for 1984 Pop/Contemporary Album of The Year. Smith recorded four albums and one live video with The Imperials before leaving the group in 1985. He continued to submit songs to The Imperials—Including his song "Wings of Love," which was recorded by Ron Hemby the group in 1987.

In 1986, Smith signed with Day Spring Records a division of the Word Records. Live and Learn was a successful album in the Christian music marketplace. He only recorded three albums on this label. By 1990, the record label Star Song pulled away from Word Records and became part of Sparrow Records. Many artists including The Imperials had left Word and signed with StarSong, and Smith also made the move. Human Touch was released in 1991. It would be his only album released on that label.

Smith continued to tour through the early 1990s—but did not have a new album out until 1994—when he signed a contract with Integrity Music to release Extra Measure. The album charted, but the success did not last. He later served as Music Minister at the First Baptist Church of Colleyvile, Texas. In 2006, Smith's long awaited album Soli Deo was released independently. "Soli Deo is not a huge departure from the musical style that made Paul a highly recognizable voice in contemporary Christian music in the '80s."[1]


In 2010, Smith reunited with former Imperials members Armond Morales and Dave Will, to  join Rick Evans. together they reset the famous foursome to record and tour. Paul is still singing with the group as The Imperials Lead-Singer and is part of the management to help reform the mission to reach the next generation. 

In addition to his music, Paul is gifted in many other areas and is expanding his mission teach, train, and coach the next wave of worshipers, singers, and performers. 

  • Adjunct Professor of Vocal Studies

    The King's University (TKU)

    January 2016 – Present 3 years 4 months

    Southlake,TXWorship Minister,singer,song-writer,Actor,Voice Instructor and Coach

  • Paul Smith Vocal Studio -- Vocal technique and coaching for all styles and levels of performers. I also offer workshops and vocal coaching for praise teams and choirs at churches.We are Proud to announce the launch of The Paul Smith Vocal Studio. For more information about this endeavor you can reach Paul at or "like" his facebook page @​



Stand By the Power -

Stand By the Power -

I Just Want To Know -

Praise the Lord -

Been Through The Water -

Brighter Day -

How Great thou Art (With Armond Morales)-

Recording Discography

  • 1979: Free Man (Post Script Music)

  • 1986: Live and Learn (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1987: No Frills (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1989: Back to Who I Am (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1991: Human Touch (StarSong)

  • 1994: Extra Measure (Integrity)

  • 2006: Soli Deo (Independent)

  • 1982: Stand By the Power (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1983: Side By Side (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1984: Sing the Classics (Dayspring/Word)

  • 1985: Let the Wind Blow (Myrrh/Word)

  • 1986: Old Fashioned Faith (Dayspring/Word) (compilation)

  • 1996: The Imperials – Legacy (Word) (compilation)

  • 2007: The Definitive Collection (Word) (compilation)

  • 2010: Still Standing (Infinity Music)

  • 1984: The Imperials 20th Anniversary (Myrrh/Word)


bottom of page